antitrust law

Laws adopted to outlaw or restrict business practices considered monopolistic or that restrain trade. In the U.S., the principal antitrust laws are the Sherman Antitrust Act (enacted in 1890 and frequently amended), the Clayton Act (originally adopted in 1914), the Robinson-Patman Act (passed in 1936 to add price-discrimination prohibitions to the Clayton Act), and the Federal Trade Commission Act (also adopted in 1914). Some states have also adopted antitrust laws, such as the Donnelly Act in New York. Outside the U.S., antitrust laws are often referred to as “competition” laws.

Buying a Franchise? Let the Franchisee Resource Center Help
Get Help
Review Hundreds of FDD’s from top franchises - view the site.
View FDDs
You can buy & download current FDD’s in the industry in one place!
 Buy FDDs
The Insiders Guide | Find the Perfect Franchise for you
Buy the 3rd Edition
© 2021 | The Educated Franchisee | All Rights Reserved
Powered by Saint George